Business units are the foundation of the security structure in Microsoft Dynamics 365. Each user has to be part of a business unit. There is a default business unit that is created when Dynamics 365 is installed. This is called the root business unit, and it cannot be deleted or disabled–only renamed. More business units can be created if different levels of access to information is required for different groups within the organization.
Root business unit: There must be at least one business unit and only one root business unit. This is the only unit that cannot be deleted or disabled as it forms the root of the structure. The root business unit is the top most point of the organizational hierarchy and all other business units are its children. The root business unit is usually the corporation or the holding company and the child units are subsidiaries, divisions or departments of the business. Not all organizations choose to use child business units. If there is no need to segregate data between subsidiaries, divisions, or departments then there will only be the one business unit.
How to Create a Microsoft Dynamics CRM Business Unit
- On the Navigation Bar, from the functional area selector go to Settings, then Security, then Business Units.
- On the list toolbar, click New.
- This will open the business unit form. Enter the information for the new business unit to be created ensuring the required fields are filled in. Save.
- On the left of the window under Organization see a list of related records. Users will show the list of users specifically assigned to the business unit. Business Units would show if there are any child business units to this business unit. Teams will show a default team that is created when the new business unit is established, but more can always be added.
- Save and Close or use the X to close the business unit window.
Dynamics 365 business units can also be reorganized, disabled and deleted. While deleting a business unit, any child Business Units, Users or Teams must be removed either by deleting or reassigning them to a new business unit. It is better to disable a business unit rather than delete it because once deleted it cannot be undone.